Victoria Family Court & Youth Justice Committee (VFC&YJC) Constitution (revised)

Using the <u>existing VFC&YJC</u> **Constitution** and incorporating into it; the <u>recommendations</u> from the 3 Working Groups being: 1.Succession, 2. Priorities (granting), 3. Policies, Procedures and Community Charter which were adopted by the main Committee on September 22, 2021, and have been incorporated here within this revision. (September 2022)

Victoria Family Court and Youth Justice Committee

Constitution

- 1. The Family Court Committee shall consist of:
 - a) One elected representative appointed by each of the following jurisdictions:
 - 1 City of Victoria
 - 2 City of Langford
 - 3 City of Colwood
 - 4 District of Oak Bay
 - 5 District of Saanich
 - 6 Township of Esquimalt
 - 7 District of Central Saanich
 - 8 Township View Royal
 - 9 District of Highlands
 - 10 District of Metchosin
 - 11 District of Sooke
 - 12 District of North Saanich
 - 13 Township of Sidney
 - 17 Juan du Fuca Electoral Area
 - 18 First Nations greater Victoria/ Capital Regional District (CRD) area
 - 19 School District #61
 - 20 School District #62
 - 21 School District # 63
- b. Notwithstanding a) above, each jurisdiction may appoint a non-elected alternate representative to the Committee such as a community volunteer citizen representative.
- c. Up to seven (7) members (citizen representatives or volunteers) shall/ maybe appointed by the CRD Board for a minimum two (2) year term, names which the VFC&YJC has recommended by resolution to the CRD after their Annual General Meeting (AGM).
- d. In addition, the CRD Board would ratify the Elected Officers names submitted to them from VFC&YJC by resolution after the Committee's Annual General Meeting, for the positions of Chair, Vice-chair and Treasurer. This action is in accordance with Section 5, sub-section (5) of the Provincial Court Act for a Family Court Committee.
- e. A new position of "Past Chair" may be incorporated and the Past Chair will serve a one (1) year term; the role of the Past Chair will be to provide assistance with orientation training and with potential recruitment process.

- 2. Representatives from the three (3) participating School Districts (61, 62, and 63) shall be appointed by their individual School Boards as voting members to the VFC&YJC. School Districts' have the discretion to appoint a School Trustee or a representative having experience in education programs or who work directly with youth.
- 3. Representatives of the Ministries of the Attorney General, Education and Child Care, Public Safety and Solicitor General, Health, Housing and Social Development, police forces and First Nations councils may be invited and may attend VFC&YJC meetings as non-voting resource members.
- 4. As well, the Resource Agencies may present to the Committee at the allotted time on a VFC&YJC agenda. It is recommended that potential presenters or delegations contact the Chair of VFC&YJC in advance of a Committee meeting for confirmation and details on presenting such as duration of time.
- 5. Once accepted by the Committee it shall be the duty of the Chair of VFC&YJC to submit the Annual Report for the previous year which reports out on the Committee's activities as per Section 5, sub-section 6 (c) of the Provincial Court Act to the Attorney General.
- 6. Once accepted by the Committee it shall be the duty of the Chair of VFC&YJC to submit the Committee's previous year's Annual Report to the CRD Board, plus the participating municipalities to VFC&YJC.
- 7. It shall be the duty of the Chair of VFC&YJC to submit an annual budget prepared by the VFC&YJC Treasurer and approved by the Committee at the AGM, or submitted before October of each year to CRD financial staff.
- 8. Any new terms will commence effective with the VFC&YJC and CRD adopted agreement for VFC&YJC to become a CRD Delegated Commission.

Proposed motion for the Committee's 2023, Annual General Meeting:

"That the Victoria Family Court and Youth Justice Committee repeals the existing Constitution, and replaces it with the revised version of September 2022 which incorporates the adopted recommendations from the Committee's 3 Working Groups being: 1. Succession, 2. Priorities (granting), 3. Policies, Procedures & Community Charter)."